Slide background

Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background


Shire Map

Visitor Information

Where to find out more information in the Buloke Shire:


Business and Learning Centre at the Shamrock Hotel in Cumming Avenue Birchip




Neighbourhood House

Sea Lake



The Resource Centre Broadway Wycheproof

Water Activities

Enjoy spending time with your family and friends at one of our beautiful lakes in the Buloke Shire.  Great for water activities!

Lake Buloke

Area of 11,000 hectares. Great for duck shooting when it has water. It fills about every 10 years. The rest of the time it is used as farm land and is unrecognizable as a lake.

  • Duck Shooting
  • Fishing
  • Bird Watching

Lake Tyrrell - (Website Link)

Lake Tyrrell is a unique salt lake located 7kms north of Sea Lake. The Lake environment is host to Mallee reptiles, kangaroos, emus, white-faced chats, and an inland gullery.

Lake Tyrrell is one of the best places in the world for reflection photgrapy and star gazing at night, including night sky photography

To get to Lake Tyrrell, which is Victoria's largest salt lake covering 20 860 hectares, head north on the Calder Highway and it's well signposted on your right-hand side. There is a viewing platform and information bay.

The lake is quite ancient. It may have been formed by drifting sand blocking the passage of Tyrrell Creek. Over time it became a giant salt basin due to the flow of subterranean saline water and the run-off from Tyrrell Lake.

It is dry most of the year although, at times, it may be covered by shallow water. Evaporation leaves a salt crust which is commercially extracted by the Cheetham Salt Works at the northern end of the lake. Over 100,000 tonnes of salt is extracted from the lake each year by Cheetham Salt. The first recorded salt harvest from Lake Tyrrell was in 1896.

  • Reflective Photography
  • Star Photography
  • Star Gazing
  • Sea Lake Mallee Rally
  • Bird Watching
  • Nature Walks

Lake Wooroonook

Situated 14 kms west of Charlton on the Borung highway the Wooroonook Lake system provides freshwater lakes with the opportunitiy for:

  • Nature walks
  • Watersports – Skiing – Swimming
  • Fishing
  • Camping – Tents and caravans

Tchum Lake

On the Birchip Wycheproof Road 8 kilometres east of Birchip lies the Tchum Lake system. The main lake holds approximately 900 megalitres of water and is a popular holiday spot for campers and water skiers.

  • Nature walks
  • Watersports – Skiing – Swimming
  • Fishing
  • Camping – Tents and caravans

Watchem Lake

Is a small lake located 3 km west of Watchem on the Warracknabeal road. The lake has camping facilities and is used for watersports and although it is small the island in the centre breaks the waves created by speed boats and makes it a good lake for water skiing.

  • Watersports – Skiing – Swimming
  • Fishing
  • Camping – Tents and caravans

Green Lake

Green Lake is a small and very attractive lake in the middle of a wheat-belt area with sandy beaches, powered camping sites, showers and lots of picnic/barbecue areas, bush walks, gum trees and shade.

It is located 10km from Sea Lake along the road to Birchip and has powered sites and facilities for individuals or groups to meet or stay.

The lake, which was dry for several years, has had water for the last couple of years and is suitable for swimming and limited boating.

Bushwalking can be enjoyed around the outskirts of the lakebed and in an adjacent reserve of Mallee and Pine-Buloke woodland.

  • Nature walks, (320 hectares of bushland)
  • Watersports – Skiing – Swimming - Fishing
  • Camping – Tents and caravans
  • Dormitory style accommodation may also be available if pre booked.

Foletti Caravan Park Lake

This lake although small is ideal for fishing and with the caravan park situated right on its shores you can stay for as long as you like

  • Angling
  • Camping – Tents, caravans & on-site accommodation



Tours and Walking Trails

Donald Tourism Association in the Buloke Shire has a variety of self tours available from the Donald Learning Centre at 31 Woods Street.

  • Lake Tyrrell - Walking, Star gazing and Photography 
  • Richardson River Walking track in Donald
  • Birchip to Tchum Lake Walking trail
  • Green Lake has a variety of nature walking trails

Tours of towns and historical precincts in the Buloke Shire can be organised in most towns through their progress and historical associations

  • Donald
    Norm Hollis (03) 5497 1552
  • Birchip
    Dorothy Reid (03) 5399 0564
  • Charlton
    Carolyne Olive (03) 5491 6225
  • Sea Lake
    Karen Bacon 0427 702 273
  • Wycheproof
    Mick Giddings (03) 5493 7227
  • Nullawil
    Barry James (03) 5493 5270


Getting around Buloke

Download the map of Buloke Shire.


Buloke Weather

What's on at the Rex?




See what's coming up at the Rex Theatre in Charlton.

Visit social facebook or WEBSITE